ZEITRAUM 

Finally time and space allow us to go on stage again and perform in front of an audience! This year's graduates and all other students of the main course of DANCEWORKS berlin present pieces by the renowned choreographers Heidi Weiss and Michael Langeneckert.

 

The students have worked in repertory projects with the two guest choreographers, learning and rehearsing the dance pieces. In the process, the students were able to gain valuable experience for their professional lives as stage dancers and prepare well for their performance exams in the theater.

 

Michael Langeneckert is a freelance choreographer and training director based in Freiburg, Germany. Most recently he worked for 3 years as Rehearsal Director at the Staatstheater Mainz. He received his training as a dancer in Freiburg and has since been active as a freelancer as well as at numerous city and state theaters in Germany, Switzerland and Austria. In Freiburg he led his own freelance dance company Rebound Prod from 2001 to 2007. From October 2018 he works under his new label moving orchestra as choreographer and training director for contemporary dance/floorwork technic. He teaches internationally at numerous training schools, theater companies as well as open professional classes.

 

Heidi Weiss received her BFA in modern dance from the University of the Arts in 1992. From 1992 to 1996 she choreographed and performed with Group Motion, a Philadelphia based company. In 1997 she moved to Germany and founded Zen in theBasement Co. with Jennifer Mann. They have created many works together that have been shown in theaters and festivals in the EU and abroad. Heidi has taught various modern techniques for many years. She developed the Weissmann Technique * with Jennifer Mann, which she continues to teach successfully in workshops, festivals and at prestigious private schools and universities.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
 

"LEDIGLICH SCHWINGUNG"

Choreography: Heidi Weiss 

Dance: main studies (Förderklassen)

Music: Loscil: Equivalent 1, Deadbeat: Wolves and Angels,Loscil: Equivalent 6, Deadbeat: Punta de Choros

 

This piece was created for students of Folkwang University and will premiere in November 2019 at the Pina Bausch Theater in Essen, Germany.

The piece was revised for the students of DANCEWORKS berlin. Changes were made to the original choreography to comply with Corona regulations.

 

 "The truth is there are no circles at all, just as there are no triangles. Nor are there shapes and particles, only vibration. Small particles, which are not particles but slowed light, form the circle like the triangle.....Stability is an aberration. Every line breaks. A circle however is on movement and momentum. It arises because it wants to turn. Its envelope consists of momentum and chaos reigns in its center, thus its essence is indestructible."
- Robert Gwisdek ( The Invisible Apple )

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

 

"SHIFT 3.0"

Idea and Choreography: Michael Langeneckert
Dance: Main course (Excellence class)

Music: Timber Timbre, Ambentum, Plastikman 

 

"The dream is the best proof that we are not so firmly enclosed in our skin as it seems."
- Friedrich Hebbel

 

What do we want? What do we need? What are we granted?

Our scope of action and movement is subject to constant change. Our urge for freedom, mentally and physically, is limited by many circumstances. Laws, family, responsibility towards the community, catastrophes, etc. The dancers of Danceworks Berlin are pushed to extreme physical limits in their movements. Infinite freedom as well as narrow limits, physically and spatially. The choreography illuminates the personal handling in these danger zones and the many strategies that we humans can and must develop again and again.

 

Reserve tickets at: pr@danceworks-ev.de

ZEITRAUM 

Endlich erlauben uns Zeit und Raum wieder auf die Bühne zu gehen und vor Publikum zu performen! Die diesjährigen Absolventen und alle weiteren Studenten und Studentinnen des Hauptstudiums von DANCEWORKS berlin präsentieren dieses Jahr Stücke der renommierten Choreografen Heidi Weiss und Michael Langeneckert.

 

Die Auszubildenden haben in Repertoire-Projekten mit den beiden Gastchoreografen gearbeitet und die Tanzstücke gelernt und geprobt. Dabei konnten die Studierenden wertvolle Erfahrung für das Berufsleben als Bühnentänzer sammeln und sich gut auf die Performance-Prüfung im Theater vorbereiten.

 

Michael Langeneckert ist freischaffender Choreograph und Trainingsleiter mit Wohnsitz in Freiburg. Zuletzt arbeitete er 3 Jahre als Rehearsal Director am Staatstheater Mainz. Er erhielt seine Ausbildung als Tänzer in Freiburg und war seither freischaffend sowie auch an zahlreichen Stadt- und Staatstheatern in Deutschland, Schweiz und Österreich aktiv. In Freiburg leitete er seine eigene freie Tanzkompanie Rebound Prod von 2001 bis 2007. Ab Oktober 2018 arbeitet er unter seinem neuen Label moving orchestra als Choreograph und Trainingsleiter für zeitgenössischen Tanz/floorwork technic. Er unterrichtet international an zahlreichen Ausbildungsschulen, Theaterkompanien sowie offene Profiklassen.

 

Heidi Weiss erhielt 1992 ihr BFA in modernem Tanz von der “University of the Arts”. Von 1992 bis 1996 choreografierte und performte sie mit Group Motion, einem in Philadelphia ansässigen Ensemble. 1997 zog sie nach Deutschland und gründete mit Jennifer Mann Zen in theBasement Co. Sie haben viele Werke zusammen geschaffen, die in Theatern und Festivals in der EU und im Ausland gezeigt wurden. Heidi unterrichtet seit vielen Jahren verschiedene moderne Techniken. Sie hat mit Jennifer Mann die Weissmann-Technik * entwickelt, die sie weiterhin erfolgreich in Workshops, Festivals und an renommierten Privatschulen und Universitäten unterrichtet.
 

"LEDIGLICH SCHWINGUNG"

Choreografie: Heidi Weiss 

Tanz: Hauptstudium (Förderklassen)

Musik: Loscil: Equivalent 1, Deadbeat: Wolves and Angels,Loscil: Equivalent 6, Deadbeat: Punta de Choros

 

Dieses Stück wurde für Studenten der Folkwang Universität geschaffen und im November 2019 im Pina Bausch Theater in Essen uraufgeführt.

Das Stück wurde für die Studenten von DANCEWORKS berlin überarbeitet. Es wurden Änderungen an der ursprünglichen Choreografie vorgenommen, um die Corona-Bestimmungen einzuhalten.

 

 „Die Wahrheit ist es gibt gar keine Kreise, genauso wenig, wie es Dreiecke gibt. Auch gibt es keine Formen und Partikel, sondern lediglich Schwingung. Kleine Teilchen, die keine Teilchen sind, sondern gebremstes Licht, formen den Kreis wie das Dreieck.....Stabilität ist ein Irrweg. Jede Linie zerbricht. Ein Kreis jedoch ist auf Bewegung und Schwung aus. Er entsteht weil er sich drehen will. Seine Hülle besteht aus Schwung und in seiner Mitte herrscht Chaos, somit ist sein Wesen unzerstörbar."
- Robert Gwisdek ( Der Unsichbare Apfel )

 

"SHIFT 3.0"

Idee und Choreografie: Michael Langeneckert
Tanz: Hauptstudium (Exzellenzklasse)

Musik: Timber Timbre, Ambentum, Plastikman 

 

"Der Traum ist der beste Beweis dafür, daß wir nicht so fest in unserer Haut eingeschlossen sind, wie es scheint."
- Friedrich Hebbel

 

Was wollen wir? Was brauchen wir? Was wird uns zugestanden?

Unser Handlung - und Bewegungsspielraum ist ständigen Veränderungen unterworfen. Unser Freiheitsdrang, geistig und physisch, wird durch vielerlei Umstände eingeschränkt. Gesetzte, Familie, Verantwortung gegenüber der Gemeinschaft, Katastrophen etc. Die Tänzer*Innen von Danceworks Berlin werden in ihren Bewegungen in extreme physische Grenzbereiche versetzt. Unendliche Freiheit genauso wie eng gesteckte Grenzen, körperlich und räumlich. Die Choreographie beleuchtet den persönlichen Umgang in diesen Gefahrenzonen und die vielen Strategien, die wir Menschen immer wieder aufs neue entwickeln können und müssen.

Tickets reservieren, per E-mail unter: pr@danceworks-ev.de