become a student at DANCEWORKS

Choose your program

At DANCEWORKS berlin you can start with a pre-education or start with full-time dance training if you have the appropriate dancing skills.

 

You can find all information about the structure, the subjects and the costs on this page. 

You can also register directly for the audition (live or online) or reserve a place in the pre-education. 

More About Us-AndreasHeise-061.jpg

3-years education in contemporary dance

It is possible to start your education with us in the winter semester (October) or in the summer semester (April).

It is a full-time course over three years; Monday to Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

In addition to dance and theory subjects, there are regular excursions to theatres, master classes, workshops and community events.

The basic requirement for admission to our education is a successfully passed audition. 

Pre-education
'Dance as a Profession' (TAB)

Our pre-education lasts 5 months and starts either in February or in September. 

Classes take place from Monday to Friday from

5:00 p.m. to 8:15 p.m.

There is no entrance audition, but previous dance experience is expected. The pre-training ends with a public performance. 

20180702_DSC1868-modern Limon.jpg

Our education in contemporary dance

 

Structure 

1

In the first year of study you will develop your technical and physical skills, including your strength and endurance, and expand your previous dance experience. Your schedule will include ballet classes, various modern dance techniques (like Horton and Limon), contemporary dance classes, corework, improvisation and composition. You also have time for artistic research and start to explore your creativity. Together we will discuss what your goals are and what you would like to focus on in your training. You can use this first year to experiment, challenge yourself, reflect, improve and continuously work on your skills. You get to know different choreographers and will already perform on stage several times.

2

In the second year of study, you refine your technical and artistic skills. Contemporary influences are added in ballet, in modern dance you get to know Graham and Cuunnigham, the contemporary dance classes are intensified and complemented by partnering and repertoire. In all areas you will get to know new approaches, styles and teachers. Two composition blocks await you, so that you can work more on your individual artistic language. The performance opportunities are increasing and you can perform in different locations and locations. You will also learn which activities occur 'behind the scenes' e.g. light and sound installation, costumes, stage design, staging...

3

In the third year of study (your final year!) it is all about defining your uniqueness and putting the finishing touches to it. You will become familiar with a variety of modern and contemporary techniques, create your graduation piece, develop your artistic thesis as a basis for scholarships and funding projects, receive targeted mentoring and present yourself as a dancer and your own pieces in different environments and contexts. You are now ready to gain a foothold in the professional dance scene and present yourself with confidence. 

In the case of outstanding performance and special talent, we offer you the opportunity (regardless of your academic year) to be included in our Excellence class. You will have additional dance classes, own projects or opportunities to perform.

additional subjects

Community support, inspiration and exchange have high priority for us.

Therefore, our training also includes subjects that are taught together.  

Master classes & workshops

We regularly invite international guest teachers and choreographers of various styles to train your receptivity and adaptability and to shape your network. After the events there is enough time for discussions, feedback, expert tips and tricks as well as questions and suggestions. Mock auditions also take place.

Eg contemporary partnering, urban styles, drama, somatic work, musical theater dance, voice training, physical theatre for dancers

Theory & context studies

In addition to physical training, it is also important to train artistic understanding in order to bring theory and practice together. You will be actively involved in the theoretical subjects, there are group assignments and discussions. 

e.g. dance history, musicality, dance management, anatomy, nutrition, contextual studies, self-analysis, facescreening 

body & mind

You will also find supplementary subjects in your timetable that strengthen stamina and strength, ensure mental health and balance or improve your body understanding.

eg Yoga, Pilates, Conditioning, Floor Barre, Gyrokinesis, Core Work, Circle Training

 

Events

In addition to daily training, joint activities should not be neglected - whether as additional inspiration, to strengthen the sense of community or simply to switch off and have fun. 

FREIdance

Every last Friday of the month we organize an internal showing in our largest and most beautiful Studio 2. Here you have the chance to present what you have learned over the past few weeks, your own choreographies, initial ideas, work-in-progress studies, etc. We would like to offer you a platform for exchange and mutual inspiration. When you are on stage, you gain stage experience, when you are in the audience, you sharpen your senses by observing and consolidating your own artistic opinion.

Update: our Studio 2 is getting a new look - soon you will find spotlights, a grandstand and a new sound system here. So like a real little theatre. 

Excursions

We regularly go to open rehearsals, in theatres, performance venues and cultural centers so that you can find out what is happening in the dance scene, what pieces there are, which choreographers and companies are currently performing. Afterwards there is the opportunity to talk to the producers, choreographers and dancers, to exchange ideas and to take important input for your own career with you. 

Berlin, as a vibrant capital with a diverse dance landscape and international ensembles and project groups, offers ample opportunities for this. In addition, trips to other cities and venues are planned, as well as exchange programs with other universities and training centers. 

Get-together 

End of semester, start of vacation, graduation, Christmas... There are always reasons to celebrate. And where there is so much dancing, there can also be a party. The Vagabund brewery in our backyard is a very popular meeting place with a relaxed atmosphere and fair prices.

 

Costs

Audition

The tuition fees are €2,520 per semester (€420/month).

A surcharge of €180 (€30/month) per semester is charged for admission to the excellence class. The fees are payable in monthly instalments.

 

If you pay the entire tuition fee (for one school year, ie two semesters), a discount of €240 (about 5%) will be granted. 

The school contract is concluded for three years, whereby the first year is a trial year and can be terminated with the statutory notice period of three months to the end of the first year.

During their studies, students must have valid health insurance. The students are insured by the school with the trade association for injuries during school time. 

The training is entitled to BAföG. When you present your student ID to the BVG, you will receive training tickets (trainee/student tickets with student ID II) for public transport. 

 

 

In order to be admitted to the training, you must successfully pass an audition. We plan sufficient time for assessment and feedback discussions.


The audition consists of the subjects ballet, modern and contemporary dance. Please be prepared to perform a short solo/ improvisation (about 1 min). 


Please also send us a CV with information about your previous dance experiences. To be able to take the exam, you have to register online here. Registration costs 30 euros or 50 euros for the video option. You will receive all further information in a confirmation email.

 
 

Registration for the audition

arrow&v
arrow&v
upload document

Thank you for registering for the audition! We are looking forward to meeting you.

 

Pre-education 'Dance as a Profession' (TAB)

Why choose this program?

You love to dance and are considering starting a professional dance education? You already have previous experience and would like to raise your dancing skills to a more intensive level? Are you looking for a new challenge?

Duration & Subjects

Our 'Dance as a Profession' (Tanz als Beruf) program lasts five months and always begins in February or September. You can also participate more than once.

Every day (Mon-Fri) you attend two dance classes of 90 minutes each and improve both your technical basis and your creative skills. Classes take place in the early evening between 5:00-6:30 p.m. and 6:45-8:15 p.m.

These classes await you: contemporary dance, floor work/acrobatics, ballet, modern, jazz dance, urban styles, improvisation, creative work/composition and Pilates/yoga.

 

Most of the teachers in the pre-training program also teach in our professional education in a differentiated and goal-oriented way in order to promote individual support while maintaining the general pedagogical and artistic goal.

Final performance

At the end of the program there is a public performance where you can present what you have learned. If you want, you can also show your own creation. You will also receive a certificate (if you participate at least 75%)

 

If you then want to start our vocational training, we encourage you to take part in one of our auditions and provide you with specific assistance.

Costs

The total fee for the program is €1,600 (5 x monthly payments of €320 each). If you pay the entire tuition fee “in one sum”, there is a discount of €80.

More About Us-AndreasHeise-055_edited.jpg

Registration for our Pre-education

arrow&v
arrow&v

Great that you are part of our pre-training program! We look forward to getting to know you personally.

top of page

Werde ein Teil von DANCEWORKS

Wähle Dein Programm

Bei DANCEWORKS berlin kannst Du mit einem Intensiv-Programm starten oder direkt mit einer Vollzeit-Tanzausbildung beginnen, wenn Du die entsprechenden tänzerischen Fähigkeiten mitbringst.

 

Alle Informationen zum Aufbau, den Fächern und den Kosten erfährst Du auf dieser Seite. 

Außerdem kannst Du Dich direkt zur Audition (live oder online) anmelden oder Dir Deinen Platz in unserem Intensiv-Programm reservieren. 

Danceworks (47 von 135).jpg
Danceworks (47 von 135).jpg

3-jährige Ausbildung Zeitgenössischer Bühnentanz

Ein Ausbildungsbeginn ist bei uns zum Wintersemester (Oktober) oder zum Sommersemester (April) möglich.

Es handelt sich um eine Vollzeitausbildung über drei Jahre; montags-freitags von 9:00-16:00 Uhr.

Zusätzlich zu den Tanz-und Theoriefächern gibt es regelmäßige Exkursionen zu Theatern, Masterclasses, Workshops und Communityevents.

Grundvoraussetzung für die Aufnahme in unsere Ausbildung ist eine erfolgreich bestandene Audition. 

Intensiv-Programm

'Tanz als Beruf' (TAB)

Unser Intensiv-Programm dauert 5 Monate und beginnt entweder im Februar oder im September. 

Der Unterricht findet von montags bis freitags in der Zeit von 10:30-12:00 und 12:15-13:30 Uhr statt.

Du kommst mit den Studierenden der Vollzeit-Ausbildung in Kontakt und bist Teil des DANCEWORKS Campus. Das Programm endet mit einer öffentlichen Vorstellung und Abschlussfeier, bei der Du auch ein offizielles Zertifikat über Deine erfolgreiche Teilnahme erhälst.

A3_DW1.jpg

Ausbildung Zeitgenössischer Bühnentanz

Aufbau Tanzausbildung

Aufbau 

1

Im ersten Studienjahr wirst Du Deine technischen und körperlichen Fähigkeiten, einschließlich Deiner Kraft und Ausdauer, aufbauen und Deine bisherigen Tanzerfahrungen erweitern. Dein Stundenplan beinhaltet Ballettunterricht, verschiedene moderne Tanztechniken (wie Horton und Limon), zeitgenössische Tanzklassen, Corework, Improvisation und Komposition. Außerdem hast Du Zeit für künstlerische Forschung und beginnst, Deine Kreativität zu entdecken. Gemeinsam besprechen wir, was Deine Ziele sind und welchen Schwerpunkte Du in Deiner Ausbildung setzen möchtest. Du kannst dieses erste Jahr dafür nutzen, zu experimentieren, Dich auszuprobieren, Dich selbst zu reflektieren und kontinuierlich an Dir zu arbeiten. Du lernst verschiedene ChoreografInnen kennen und stehst bereits mehrfach auf der Bühne.

2

Im zweiten Studienjahr verfeinerst Du Deine technischen und künstlerischen Fähigkeiten. Im Ballett kommen zeitgenössische Einflüsse hinzu, im modernen Tanz lernst Du Graham und Cunningham kennen, die zeitgenössischen Tanzklassen werden intensiviert und durch Partnering und Repertoire ergänzt. In allen Bereichen lernst Du neue Ansätze, Stile und DozentInnen kennen. Es erwarten Dich zwei Kompositionsblöcke, so dass du vermehrt an Deiner individuellen künstlerischen Sprache arbeiten kannst. Die Auftrittsmöglichkeiten nehmen zu und Du kannst an verschiedenen Schauplätzen und Orten auftreten. Du lernst außerdem, welche Tätigkeiten "hinter den Kulissen" anfallen, z.B. Licht-und Soundinstallation, Kostüme, Bühnenbild, Staging und Inszenierung.

3

Im dritten Studienjahr (Dein Abschlussjahr!) geht es nun darum, Deine Einzigartigkeit zu definieren und den letzten Feinschliff zu erreichen. Du wirst mit einer Vielzahl von modernen und zeitgenössischen Techniken vertraut gemacht, kreierst Dein Abschlussstück, erarbeitest Deine künstlerische Thesis als Grundlage für Stipendien und Förderprojekte, bekommst ein gezieltes Mentoring und präsentierst Dich als TänzerIn sowie Deine eigenen Stücke in verschiedenen Umgebungen und Kontexten. Du bist nun bereit, in der professionellen Tanzszene Fuß zu fassen und Dich selbstbewusst zu präsentieren. 

Bei herausragender Leistung und besonderem Talent bieten wir Dir die Möglichkeit (unabhängig von Deinem Studienjahr), in unsere Company-Klasse aufgenommen zu werden. Diese hat zusätzliche Auftrittsmöglichkeiten, ein eigenes Stück in unseren jährlichen Performances, Projekte und Workshops mit wechselnden DozentInnen.

Zusatzfächer

Gegenseitige Unterstützung, Inspiration und Austausch haben bei uns hohe Priorität.

Daher beinhaltet unsere Ausbildung auch Fächer, die gemeinsam unterrichtet werden.  

Masterclasses & Workshops

Wir laden regelmäßig internationale GastdozentInnen und ChoreografInnen verschiedener Stilrichtungen ein, um Deine Aufnahme- und Anpassungsfähigkeit zu schulen und Dein Netzwerk zu gestalten. Im Anschluss an die Events bleibt ausreichend Zeit für Gespräche, Feedback, Expertentipps und -tricks sowie Fragen und Anregungen. Außerdem finden Mock-Auditions statt.

z.B.Contemporary Partnering, Urban Styles, Schauspiel, Somatic Work, Musical Theatre Dance, Stimmtraining, Physical Theatre for dancers

Theorie & Kontext

Neben dem körperlichen Training ist es auch wichtig, dass künstlerische Verständnis zu schulen, um Theorie und Praxis zusammenzubringen. Du wirst aktiv in die theoretischen Fächer mit einbezogen, es gibt Gruppenaufgaben und Diskussionsrunden. 

z.B. Tanzgeschichte, Musikalität, Tanzmanagement, Anatomie & Ernährung, Kontextstudien, Selbstanalyse, Performancescreening 

Körper & Geist

Du findest in Deinem Stundenplan außerdem Ergänzungsfächer, die Ausdauer und Kraft stärken, für mentale Gesundheit und Ausgleich sorgen oder Dein Körperverständnis verbessern.

z.B. Yoga, Pilates, Conditioning, Floor Barre, Gyrokinesis, Core Work, Circle Training

Zusatzfächer

Events

Neben dem täglichen Training dürfen auch gemeinsame Aktivitäten nicht zu kurz kommen - sei es als zusätzliche Inspiration, zur Stärkung des Gemeinschaftsgefühls oder auch einfach nur, um abzuschalten und Spaß zu haben. 

FREIdance

In regelmäßigen Abständen veranstalten wir ein internes Showing in unserem größten und schönsten Studio 2. Hier hast Du die Chance Gelerntes aus den vergangenen Wochen, eigene Choreografien, erste Ideen, Work-in-progress Studien etc. zu präsentieren. Hiermit möchten wir Dir eine Plattform zum Austausch und zur gegenseitigen Inspiration bieten. Stehst Du auf der Bühne, sammelst Du Bühnenerfahrung, bist Du im Publikum schärfst Du Deine Sinne im Beobachten und im Festigen einer eigenen künstlerischen Meinung.

Update: unser Studio 2 bekommt ein neues Aussehen - bald findest Du hier Scheinwerfer, eine Tribüne und ein neues Soundsystem. Also wie ein echtes, kleines Theater. 

Exkursionen

Damit Du mitbekommst, was alles in der Tanzszene passiert, was es für Stücke gibt, welche ChoreografInnen und Companies aktuell auftreten, gehen wir regelmäßig zu offenen Proben, in Theater, Aufführungsorte und Kulturzentren. Im Anschluss besteht die Möglichkeit, mit den ProduzentInnen, ChoreografInnen und TänzerInnen ins Gespräch zu kommen, sich auszutauschen und wichtigen Input für Deine eigenen Karriere mitzunehmen. 

Berlin als pulsierende Hauptstadt mit einer diversen Tanzlandschaft und internationalen Ensembles und Projektgruppen bietet dafür ausreichend Möglichkeiten. Darüber hinaus sind aber auch Ausflüge in andere Städte und Spielstätten geplant sowie Austauschprogramme mit anderen Hochschulen und Ausbildungsstätten. 

Get-together 

Semesterende, Ferienbeginn, Abschluss, Weihnachten... Gründe zum Feiern gibt es immer. Und wo so fleißig getanzt wird, da kann auch angestoßen werden. Die Vagabund Brauerei bei uns im Hinterhof ist ein sehr beliebter Treffpunkt mit einer entspannten Atmosphäre und fairen Preisen.

Gemeinschaft

Kosten

Die Studiengebühren betragen pro Semester 2.880€ (480€/Monat) für EU-StudentInnen.

Internationale, nicht-europäische Studierende bitten wir, uns im Vorfeld bezüglich der Kosten zu kontaktieren und über mögliche Modelle zu sprechen.

 

Die Gebühren sind in monatlichen Teilbeträgen zahlbar oder in einer Summe.

Bei Zahlung der gesamten Studiengebühr (für ein Schuljahr, d.h. zwei Semester) wird ein Nachlass von 260€ (rund 5%) gewährt. Bei Aufnahme in die Company-Klasse fallen zusätzliche 30€/Monat an.

Der Schulvertrag wird über drei Jahre abgeschlossen, wobei das erste Jahr ein "Probejahr" ist und mit der gesetzlichen Kündigungsfrist von drei Monaten zum Ende des 1. Jahres gekündigt werden kann.

Während des Studiums müssen die Studierenden über eine gültige Krankenversicherung verfügen. Für Verletzungen während der Schulzeit sind die Schüler durch die Schule bei der Berufsgenossenschaft versichert. 

Die Ausbildung ist BAföG berechtigt. Du erhältst bei Vorlage Deines Studentenausweises bei der BVG Ausbildungstickets (Azubi/Schülertickets mit Schülerausweis II) für die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel. 

Internationale StudentInnen (außer-europäisch) sind herzlich Willkommen. Unsere Dozentin Sarah Hardy ist Expertin für den internationalen Bereich und steht als Ansprechpartnerin zur Verfügung. Wir bieten Unterstützung bei allen organisatorischen Angelegenheiten, die die Aufnahme eines Studiums bei uns mit sich bringt (z.B. Visabeantragung, Genehmigungen etc.).

Wir freuen uns über Bewerbungen und bieten regelmäßige Zoom-Auditions an.

 

 

Um zur Ausbildung zugelassen zu werden, musst du erfolgreich an einer Aufnahmeprüfung teilnehmen. Wir planen ausreichend Zeit für die Beurteilung und Feedbackgespräche ein.


Die Aufnahmeprüfung besteht aus den Fächern Ballett, Modern und Zeitgenössischer Tanz. Bitte sei darauf vorbereitet, ein kurzes Solo vorzuführen (ca. 1 min). 


Bitte übersende uns zudem einen Lebenslauf mit Informationen zu deinen bisherigen Tanzerfahrungen. Um an der Prüfung teilnehmen zu können, musst du dich hier online anmelden. Die Anmeldung kostet 30 Euro bzw. 50 Euro für die Video-Option. In einer Bestätigungsmail erhältst du alle weiteren Informationen.

Kosten
Audition

Anmeldung zur Audition

Datei hochladen

Danke für die Anmeldung zur Audition! Wir freuen uns darauf, Dich kennenzulernen!

TAB

Vorausbildung 'Tanz als Beruf' (TAB)

Warum TAB?

Du liebst es, zu tanzen und überlegst, ob Du eine professionelle Tanzausbildung starten möchtest? Du hast bereits Vorerfahrung und möchtest Deine tänzerischen Fähigkeiten auf ein intensiveres Level heben? Du suchst nach einer neuen Herausforderung? Du möchtest in einer festen Gruppe intensiv trainieren? Dann ist unsere Vorausbildung die richtige Wahl! 

Dauer & Fächer

Unser Programm "Tanz als Beruf" (TAB) dauert fünf Monate und beginnt immer im Februar oder September. Du kannst auch mehrfach teilnehmen. 

Du besuchst jeden Tag (Mo-Fr) zwei Tanzklassen à 90 Minuten und festigst sowohl Deine technische Basis als auch Deine kreativen Fähigkeiten. Der Unterricht findet parallel zu unserer professionellen Bühnentanzausbildung in der Zeit von 10:30-12:00 Uhr + 12:15-13:45 Uhr statt.

Dich erwarten die Fächer: Zeitgenössischer Tanz, Floor Work, Ballett, Modern, Jazz Dance, Urban Contemporary, Improvisation, Creative Work/Komposition und Yoga Dance. 

 

Die meisten LehrerInnen des Vorausbildungsprogramms unterrichten auch in unserer Berufsausbildung und fördern dich individuell. Es besteht zusätzlich die Möglichkeit, je nach Grad deiner tanzpraktischen Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen an einigen Tanzklassen der professionellen Bühnentanzausbildung teilzunehmen. Hierzu gibt es natürlich ein beratendes Mentoring Gespräch.

Abschlussaufführung

Am Ende des Programms gibt es eine öffentliche Aufführung, in der Du das Gelernte präsentieren kannst. Wenn Du möchtest, kannst Du auch eine eigene Kreation zeigen. Du erhältst außerdem ein Zertifikat (bei einer Teilnahme von mind. 75%). 

 

Wenn Du im Anschluss in unsere Berufsausbildung einsteigen möchtest, ermutigen wir Dich, an einer unserer Auditions teilzunehmen und geben Dir gezielte Hilfestellung. 

Kosten

Für das kommende September-Programm

Early-bird Special bis 30. JUNI 2024: 350€ inkl. offiziellem DANCEWORKS T-Shirt in schwarz oder rot, bitte Größe mitteilen.

Bei Zahlung der gesamten Summer gibt es einen zusätzlichen Rabatt, so dass Dich das Programm insgesamt 1.700€ kostet.

Ab dem 1. JULI 2024, regulärer Preis: 380€/ Monat.

Auch hier bieten wir Dir einen Rabatt von 5%, wenn Du die Gebühr in einer Summe bezahlen möchtest. Dann kostet Dich das Programm insgesamt 1.800€. 

More About Us-AndreasHeise-055_edited.jpg

Anmeldung zur Vorausbildung TAB

Toll, dass Du beim Vorausbildungsprogramm dabei bist! Wir freuen uns darauf, Dich persönlich kennenzulernen.

bottom of page