logo ohne figuren_schwarz_ohne rahmung_3
20180621_DSC7346-modern dance Gregory.jp

About us

DANCEWORKS berlin was founded May 6th 1986 as “The Association for the Advancement of Modern Dance”. Since then the school has become one of the most established educational institutions in Germany. Many students have pursued a carrier within the field of dance upon graduating from the accredited 3-year professional education.

In 2018 DANCEWORKS berlin moved to the new location in Osram Höfe, renting the studios from Tanzraum Wedding. We are now housing in amazing studios with fantastic windows and special dance floor – offering both inspiration and optimal conditions for extensive dance training.  The outstanding studios are also frequently rented by established companies such as Sasha Waltz, Komische Oper, Münchener Kammerspiele and many freelance choreographers, giving the students and staff a natural insight and connection to the vibrant dance scene in Germany and Berlin.

 

Under the directorship of Lars Anderstam the school has reinforced the educational perspective since 2016, and is now exclusively offering 3 year accredited dance education and preparatory education.  The aim is, through a faculty with extensive artistic and dance professional experience, to strengthen employability and endorse future creative dance artists with a solid dance technical base.

Artistic directors

Raffaella Galdi and Miguel Cartagena are the artistic directors of DANCEWORKS berlin. 

Their central goal is to train students to become strong stage personalities who can master the technical and artistic challenges of a modern, diverse and, above all, international dance scene and also communicate them.

Raffaella_Jun22.JPG

Raffaella Galdi is a native Italian, choreographer. Dancer and artistic director of the company InCorpo, an ensemble working in the field of contemporary dance in relation with visual arts. Raffaella received her training in classical and modern dance at the Rotterdamse Dansacademie and at the Ecole de Dance Rosella Hightower in Cannes. Previously, she received her diploma in Fine Arts at the Art Academy in Genoa. As a dancer she worked with laborgras, Christoph Winkler and Ingo Reulecke, among others. She was part of the Belgian company Thor (1997-99), the Dutch Het Spui Theater Company (2000), the Berlin-based Cie. Toula Limnaios (2002-2003), and the Luxembourg-based formation Unit Control (2003-2005). Raffaella developed her own dance pedagogical approach to movement exploration and teaches contemporary dance, composition and improvisation at DANCEWORKS berlin.

Miguel Cartagena comes from South America and studied classical ballet at the Conservatory of the Universidad de Chile and at the Ballet School of the Opera House in Santiago. He danced with the Ballet of Santiago de Chile under the direction of Marcia Haydee and as a soloist at the Stadttheater Hildesheim. Miguel has worked as a ballet master at the opera houses of Hanover and Halle, the theaters of Heidelberg, Dortmund, Ulm, Flensburg and Oldenburg, as well as at the renowned Tanzhaus NRW and the Pretty Ugly Company in Cologne. 

At DANCEWORKS berlin Miguel teaches classical ballet and partnering.

Miguel_Jun22.JPG

TEACHERS

logo ohne figuren_schwarz_ohne rahmung_3
20180621_DSC7346-modern dance Gregory.jp

ÜBER uns

DANCEWORKS berlin wurde am 6. Mai 1986 als „Verein zur Förderung des modernen Tanzes“ gegründet. Seitdem hat sich die Schule zu einer etablierten Ausbildungseinrichtungen in Deutschland entwickelt. Viele Studierende haben nach Abschluss der anerkannten 3-jährigen Berufsausbildung eine Karriere im Bereich Tanz einschlagen können.

2018 zog DANCEWORKS berlin an einen neuen Schulstandort und zwar in die Osram Höfe und mietete bei TANZRAUM WEDDING entsprechende Säle an. Wir befinden uns jetzt in fantastischen Studios mit großen Fenstern und speziellen Tanzböden und Tanzteppich, welche sowohl Inspiration als auch optimale Bedingungen für ein umfangreiches Tanztraining bieten. Die herausragenden Studios werden auch häufig von etablierten Unternehmen wie Sasha Waltz, Komische Oper, Münchener Kammerspiele, etc. sowie von vielen freiberuflichen Choreografen genutzt, was den Studierenden einen natürlichen Einblick und eine Verbindung zur lebendigen Tanzszene in Deutschland und Berlins ermöglicht.

 

Neben der 3-jährigen Tanzausbildung wird zusätzlich eine Vorausbildung (Tanz als Beruf) angeboten. 


Ziel ist es, durch eine Schule mit umfassender künstlerischer und tänzerischer Berufserfahrung die Arbeitsfähigkeit zu stärken und zukünftige kreative Tänzer*innen mit einer soliden tanztechnischen Basis zu unterstützen.

SCHULLEITUNG

Raffaella Galdi und Miguel Cartagena bilden die künstlerische Schulleitung von DANCEWORKS berlin. 

Ihr zentrales Ziel ist es, die Studierenden zu starken Bühnenpersönlichkeiten auszubilden, die die technischen und künstlerischen Herausforderungen einer modernen, vielfältigen und vor allem internationalen Tanzszene bewältigen und diese auch vermitteln können.

Raffaella_Jun22.JPG

Raffaella Galdi ist gebürtige Italienerin, Choreografin. Tänzerin und  künstlerische Leiterin der Kompagnie InCorpo, ein Ensemble, das im Feld des zeitgenössischen Tanzes in Beziehung mit bildender Kunst arbeitet. Raffaella erhielt ihre Ausbildung in klassischem und modernen Tanz an der Rotterdamse Dansacademie sowie an der Ecole de Dance Rosella Hightower in Cannes. Zuvor erhielt sie  ihr Diplom in Bildender Kunst an der Kunsthochschule in Genua. Als Tänzerin arbeitete sie unter anderem mit laborgras, Christoph Winkler und Ingo Reulecke. Sie war Teil des belgischen Kompagnie Thor (1997-99), der niederländischen Het Spui Theater Company (2000), der in Berlin ansässigen Cie. Toula Limnaios (2002-2003) sowie der luxemburgischen Formation Unit Control (2003-2005). Raffaella entwickelte einen eigenen tanzpädagogischen Ansatz zur Bewegungsexploration und unterrichtet bei DANCEWORKS berlin zeitgenössischen Tanz, Komposition und Improvisation.

Miguel Cartagena kommt aus Chile und studierte klassisches Ballett am Konservatorium der Universidad de Chile und an der Ballettschule des Opernhauses in Santiago. Er tanzte beim Ballett von Santiago de Chile unter der Leitung von Marcia Haydee das gesamte klassische Repertoire, u.a. Stücke von Cranko, Balanchine und Béjart. Später wurde er als Solist an verschiedenen Theatern in Deutschland engagiert. Miguel war als Ballettmeister an mehreren Opernhäusern wie Hannover, Köln, Halle, Ulm, Flensburg und Oldenburg sowie am renommierten Tanzhaus NRW und der Kompagnie Pretty Ugly in Köln tätig. Außerdem unterrichtete er am Friedrichsstadtpalast Berlin Ballett. Als Choreograf war Miguel an Theatern in Flensburg, Lüneburg und Ulm engagiert.

Bei DANCEWORKS berlin unterrichtet Miguel klassisches Ballett und Partnering. 

Miguel_Jun22.JPG

DOZENTEN